Lufkin's new mayor

Bob Brown hugs a supporter at Lufkin City Hall after finding out Saturday night that he had been elected the city's new mayor.

There will be a new top man at the helm in Lufkin.

Voters on Saturday selected Oncor retiree Bob Brown as mayor, unseating two-term incumbent Jack Gorden by a 1,515-1,061 count.

“I’m elated, and I’m so grateful to this community for stepping forward and doing this,” Brown said. “If you can look at the numbers, it was a cross-section of this community, and that’s what I really was hoping — that it wasn’t divided at all, that it would be uniform — and it honestly was. What I want to do now is put this thing together and move forward in a coordinated way to get jobs back in this community. On Tuesday night, I’m going to thank the people for allowing me to do this, because this is a community effort, and I’m hoping that we can get all of these council members on the same page and step out.”

Gorden was has been mayor since 2006. He was elected as Ward 5 council member in 1984 and served as mayor pro-tem from 1998-99.

“Until the final votes are counted, you never really know how a race will go,” Gorden wrote in a statement on his Facebook page. “Tonight, Lufkin has elected a new mayor, and I offer my sincere congratulations to Mr. Bob Brown. I take this opportunity to thank my supporters for all of their efforts in this race! I also thank Mr. Brown for a solid, informative, and above-board challenge in regards to this election. I wish him the best as he prepares to lead our city into the future. Thank you, Lufkin! It’s been an honor to serve you over the past six years.

Incumbent Don Langston will take another turn as council member in Ward 4, after defeating Lufkin accountant Koshy Alexander, 464 votes to 287.

“I was surprised, not by winning but by the margin, but I do realize that I know a lot of people in my ward,” said Langston, who was first elected to the post in 2003. “They’ve always understood that I’m going to represent them conservatively as best I can. I guess they spoke in the election today. I’m humbled by their support and appreciate all of the goodwill that’s been shown me through the election process. I look forward to serving them for another three years and doing my best to honor that vote.”

Alexander said he plans to stay involved in city affairs.

“When you go against an incumbent, it’s always a battle,” Alexander said. “The main thing that we accomplished this year is the fact that we got more people to vote than we typically do. That’s the American way, and that’s what we need to continue to do.”

Diboll residents will also see a new mayor. At-large council member John McClain earned the mayor’s seat, defeating incumbent Mayor Bill Brown by a 209-173 count.

In the District 4 city council race, incumbent Daniel Lopez earned another term, defeating retiree Sam Glass by a vote of 52-24.

Jimmy Davis won the mayor’s seat in Zavalla. Davis garnered 111 votes to Hulon Miller’s 48 votes.

Nicole Boyles-Yarbrough (95 votes) and Sue Hough (89) were elected the Zavalla City Council. Randall Dykes earned 63 votes and Delton Billeaudeau got 43.

In the Redland Estates Subdivision annexation election with the Angelina County Water Supply District, 33 voted for the annexation, and 6 were opposed.

Steve Knight’s email address is