Playing in a competitive district that went down to the wire, Diboll, Central and Corrigan-Camden put up a softball season to remember for District 21-3A.

Thanks to those efforts, those teams took the bulk of the honors on the 21-3A All-District Team, which was recently announced.

Central’s Johnae Robinson and Corrigan-Camden’s Katy Burris led those honors as they shared Co-District MVP honors.

Burris was a standout pitcher and hitter for Corrigan-Camden, while Robinson brought a powerful bat to Central.

District champion Diboll, which had its best season in school history in advancing one round short of the state tournament, picked up its own share of honors with freshman pitcher Kayla Palomino being named the Freshman of the Year.

Diboll sophomore Hailey Fuentes was named the Utility Player of the Year.

In addition to those honors, Diboll earned the Coaching Staff of the Year. Hayland Hardy rounded out his first season as Diboll’s head coach in helping lead the staff to that honor.

Meanwhile, Central’s overall game was reflected in the individual awards with junior Lexi Windsor continuing to add to her impressive ledger as the Pitcher of the Year.

The honor comes a year after she was named the district MVP.

On the other side, Central sophomore Preslie Turney picked up the district’s Offensive MVP honors.

Corrigan-Camden brought home the other two superlative honors with senior Molly Rayburn being named Defensive MVP and sophomore Andrea Cuevas being named Newcomer of the Year.

Diboll led the way with six first-team selections as pitcher K.K. Rodriguez, second baseman Ellie Mann, shortstop Ashtyn Alvarez, outfielders Haven Hardy and Klarissa Mijares and utility player Skyler Martin were each honored.

Central put four players on the first team with catcher Madison Morehouse, first baseman Bailey Ortiz, third baseman Sabrina Weathers and outfielder K.K. Harris each picking up awards.

Corrigan-Camden outfielder Ladeja Daniels rounded out the first team along with Woodville pitcher Christina Nash and outfielder Reagan Smith.

Central also had a pair of players on the second team with second baseman Kendall Smith and outfielder Dakotha Helton honored.

Corrigan-Camden outfielder Jen Vasquez and shortstop Micah Hughes also earned second-team honors.

Other second-team selections went to pitchers Kaydee Hanks and Sam Allman (Hemphill), catcher Ryan Rector (Central Heights), first baseman Koral Sylestine (Woodville), third baseman Bailey Cooley (Woodville), outfielder Bailee Hudson (Central Heights) and utility player Kaitlyn Odom (Woodville).

Central’s K.K. Hancock and Trevor Wildkowsky and Diboll’s Mia Mireles and Alli Stewart were each honorable-mention selections.

Josh Havard’s email address is